WorldSBK: A look back at Round 4 from Assen


Jonathan Rea continues to dominate – taking the WorldSBK double at round four at the Dutch circuit of Assen  – while hometown boy, Michael van der Mark, raises the roof at his circuit with podium finishes.

Rea celebrateesRace 1

The opening Dutch WorldSBK race at the TT circuit was won in emphatic style by Jonathan Rea who set a new lap record on the penultimate lap to record his 6th win at Assen, the 5th of his 2015 championship campaign. After a 21 lap fight involving for a number of laps six riders, Rea eased away from eventual 2nd place finisher Chaz Davies with two laps to go to secure another win for the Kawasaki Racing Team, coming home a second ahead of the Racing – Ducati Superbike Team rider.

Michael van Der Mark (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) became the first Dutchman in the history of WorldSBK to stand on the podium in 3rd after displacing Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) who finished 4th, with an impressive move through the fast left hander of Ramshoek on the penultimate lap, which had the packed grandstands on their feet.

Today has been amazing and like in Thailand I need to sit down and savour this moment. There was a lot of pressure on me coming here, everyone talking about how Assen was my circuit, so I am just happy to deliver. We chose a different rear tyre in race two and it worked out well. Race two was slightly different because I knew Tom would be fast in the beginning. When Chaz put a pass on me and I saw Tom slowing I knew that it could end up to be a messy fight. This one is for all my mechanics who have been working tirelessly and all the people at KHI.”

Jonathan Rea

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) ran strongly in the opening laps before fading to 5th. The former champion looked to suffer in the latter stages with lack of grip.

Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) recovered from an average start to overhaul compatriot Xavi Fores for 6th in the final five laps leaving Fores to claim 7th at the flag after he had been as high as 5th in the early stages.

Reigning champion Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) had a lonely ride to 8th, coming home five seconds ahead of Nico Terol (Althea Racing) and Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who crossed the line almost side by side to finish 9th and 10th respectively.

The Voltcom Crescent Suzuki pairing of Alex Lowes and Randy de Puniet went down together at Turn 1, the Frenchman crashing alone and collecting his team mate who appeared to have run straight on. Both riders were unhurt.

Assen action

Race 2

The second WorldSBK race of the day at the iconic TT circuit of Assen in the Netherlands served up another nail-biting climax that once again had the crowd on their feet as the leading riders stayed locked together until the final lap. As he had in race one Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) took the win ahead of Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team).

Rea’s win in race two is the second double that he has achieved at Assen making him the second most successful rider come race day in the history of the Dutch Round, giving him a career best run of nine consecutive podium finishes.

Another brave move through the penultimate corner saw local rider Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Superbike) grab a double podium with another third place place after nudging aside Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils), the Brit claiming 13 points with a fourth place finish.

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) again led in the early laps before fading to fifth ahead of Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) who fought hard to recover from another average start to sixth.

“Race one was amazing and I’m glad we were able to be fast. To be able to take my first podium here at my home round with a Dutch team and all the sponsors was amazing. In race two, Leon and I had a nice fight  but I knew I had to get by him. I passed him in the Ramshoek on the last lap and then into the chicane he came around the outside.It’s way better than I could have expected this weekend. I must thank the team for that. It was great to see so many fans on the track waving the Dutch flags. I’m really proud that so many people came.”

Michael van der Mark

Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) finished one place higher than he managed in race one, bringing his CBR1000RR SP home in seventh ahead of Xavi Fores ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team), while Alex Lowes had a much better race on his Voltcom Crescent Suzuki finishing ninth. Tenth place went to Leon Camier, who brought his MV Agusta Reparto Corse machine home in another solid top-ten position.

The final point scoring finishers in positions 11th to 15th were Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing), Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia), David Salom (Team Pedercini), Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing) and Roman Ramos (Go Eleven Kawasaki).

Nico Terol (Althea Racing) crashed out of contention on lap 4, suffering a wrist fracture, while Randy de Puniet retired once again with his Voltcom Crescent Suzuki.

World supersport Assen

World Supersport

A last corner decider went in the favour of Kenan Sofuoglu (Kasawaki Puccetti Racing) as the Turkish rider claimed back to back wins in the World Supersport championship to extend his lead in this year’s series.

After the disappointment of Thailand and Aragon, Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) returned to the podium in 2nd after narrowly missing out on the victory as both he and Sofuoglu collided coming through the final chicane. Cluzel had the consolation of a new lap record as he secured 20 points to keep alive his championship chances.

The final podium place was decided after another dual, this time between Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) and PJ Jacobsen (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres). Smith, who led the opening two laps after making a great start, eventually finishing 3rd to claim his 3rd podium finish of the year ahead of the American who once again showed that he is in contention for the championship.

Roberto Rolfo (Team Lorini) in his 21st year of racing achieved 5th, coming home ahead of Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who was 6th.

Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) had a lonely race to 7th at the flag with Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing), Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25) and Riccardo Russo (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) completing the top ten at the end of an exciting lap race.

All Materials courtesy of press materials