· Spa event cancelled

· 2021 concluded at Lydden Hill

· Champions decided across most classes

Spa Francorchamps Circuit advised 5 Nations BRX that they were no longer able to host the December event scheduled due to work schedule, severe flooding and the current COVID situation. 5 Nations BRX worked hard to secure a replacement venue to allow the championship to reach its planned conclusion but has been unable to find an economically viable solution for an alternative venue.

The championships concerned were therefore concluded at Lydden Hill last weekend.

Motorsport UK Supernational Rallycross Championship

Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220) has won the class after winning four of the seven rounds. Slawomir Woloch (BMW M3 RX) finished second with Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige) winner of three rounds) in third.

Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship

After losing out to Owen Robbins in round one, Max Langmaid never looked back, claiming the remaining six wins this season. Will Ovenden finished second with Robbins in third.

Super 1600 Championship

Darren Scott (Citroen C2) and Phil Chicken (Citroen C2) both suffered mechanical issues at Knockhill where new champion Craig Lomax (Citroen C1) managed to bag maximum points and the fourth of his four wins. Scott finished second having won two rounds with Nick Snoeys (Ford KA) claiming one win. Chicken finished third in the standings.

Swift Sport Rallycross Championship

Going into the final round, Max Weatherley and Luke Constantine had clinched three wins each. Constantine’s big accident at Knockhill ruled him out of round six and the points gap was too big to close however, with Weatherley taking his fourth victory and the title at Lydden Hill.

BMW Mini Rallycross Championship

Stephen Brown has won the title, his double-win at Pembrey contributing to his tally. Dave Ellis tied with Brown on points after a strong, consistent season. Ben Sayer finished in third with Dave Bellerby, winner of four rounds in fourth. Tom Constantine, winner of the penultimate round at Knockhill finished sixth.

BMW All4 Mini Rallycross Championship

Marty Hawkes is the inaugural All4 Mini champion. David Bell won four rounds with Adrian Turner taking the fifth, but Hawkes’ consistent points scoring handed him the title.

Retro Rallycross Championship

Simon Hart (Ford Escort MkI) is the Retro Rallycross champion after consistent points scoring and claiming both Knockhill wins. Round four winner, Tony Lynch (Toyota MR2) finished second. 2020 champ Steve Cozens (Citroen AX) won the final round and claimed third while Terry Moore (Austin Mini), winner of the first two rounds at Lydden Hill in May finished fourth.

Super Retro had the most winners with Barry Stewart (Porsche 911), John Cross (Lancia Stratos), Ray Morgan (Ford Escort), Vince Bristow (BMW E36) and Jos Sterkens (Ford Escort) sharing the seven wins between them. Stewart emerged as champion followed in the standings by Bristow and Morgan.

Andy Grant won Group B & 4WD in his ex-Will Gollop Ford Focus, winning all three rounds in the category. Bradley Sampson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) claimed second with Joe Booth (Subaru Impreza) in third.

RX150 Rallycross Championship

Patrick O’Donovan’s four wins were fundamental to his 2021 title. 2020 champion Steve Jones was close behind in second with rookie Billy Alexander taking third in his first year.

Electro Rallycross Championship

Dan Welch claimed the title in the first ever all-electric rallycross championship in the UK. Welch won round one while Dave Halford claimed victory in the second round. Rob Gibson is second in the standings with Charlie Fraser in third.

The Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship (Supercars) results are subject to ongoing enquiry by Motorsport UK and points remain provisional.

Hannah Rynston, 5 Nations BRX Coordinator:

“It is disappointing that once again factors out of our control have ended our season. It would have been great to have gone out with a bang knowing that we were holding our final races of the year but we still had avenues open that could have given us another round of competition. Unfortunately, we were unable to make those options work.

“Congratulations to our champions and thank you to all our competitors. We appreciate all the efforts and understanding in what has still been unconventional circumstances. We hope that 2022 will be more conventional and run according to plan.”

The 2022 calendar will be announced in due course.


The RacerViews info

By Matt Hancock

We are passionate, dedicated motorsport professionals.

In 2021 you will see us trackside and stage side with exclusive coverage of

  • The World Endurance Championship
  • The World Rally Championship
  • Belgian Rally Championship
  • and more!

We aim to bring you interviews and photos you won’t see anywhere else. We don’t aim to break the news, rather we aim to bring the voices of the racers to you and the atmosphere of the event to you at home. Our social media presence on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube bring you more, a holistic experience. We partner with racers and professionals in the industry and give back where we can. If we can help you or you have a story to share, please contact us.

RacerViews has partnered with Championships, drivers and teams in the past. If you think we can help, have a tip or just want to say hi, please reach out.