ASBK: Waters takes Darwin glory


Josh Waters (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSXR-1000R) has won both races at Round 4 Hidden Valley Raceway for the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). The Team Suzuki ECSTAR rider sensationally achieved the double victory on Sunday in action packed races.

Race One
In an incredible YMI Superbike Race One of Hidden Valley Raceway, Daniel Falzon (JD Racing, YZF-R1) came from pole position to quickly lead into turn one on the 44 degree track. Troy Herfoss (Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team, CBR1000-SP2) and Waters were battling for second and third places constantly.

The turning point of the race happened on lap six when Falzon lost the front end and ran off-road on the YMF hairpin turn six, giving Waters the lead he needed. Falzon managed to remount and join the field.

Falzon was a man possessed, clawing his way back up the field before contact with Kyle Buckley (Kawasaki BCperformance, ZX-10R) on Pirelli corner in lap seven. Buckley was injured and had to be tended to by the RACESAFE Medical Team, Falzon once again managing to remount his bike and continue. The incident caused a red flag period and a restart.

Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1) was gifted a handy advantage in the eight lap restart, sitting in P4. Falzon started from back of the grid as a result of the red flag, with noticeably scuffed leathers after going down twice prior. He again charged through the field and managed to claw back to eighth position.

However, it was Waters, Herfoss and Maxwell that took Race One podium honours in a thrilling race that had the crowds whipped into a frenzy. Bryan Staring (Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team, CBR1000-SP2) and Robbie Bugden (Kawasaki BCperformance, ZX-10R) rounded out the top five.

Waters was elated as it was the first 2017 ASBK race win for the newly formed Team Suzuki ECSTAR team on their brand new Suzuki GSXR1000R.

Currently, there is a hearing underway in relation to the incident between Buckley and Falzon, after rider #25 (Daniel Falzon) lodged a protest in relation to his exclusion from Race One results. With the hearing still underway, Motorcycling Australia will provide further details once it has concluded.

 Provisional Race One Results
1  Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSXR-1000R)
2  Troy HERFOSS (Crankt Protein Honda Racing, Honda CBR-1000SP)
3  Wayne MAXWELL (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1)
4  Bryan STARING (Crankt Protein Honda Racing, Honda CBR-1000SP)
5  Robert BUGDEN (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R)
6  Corey TURNER (YRD Exhaust Prof, Yamaha YZF-R1)
7  Matt WALTERS (Kawasaki Australia,  ZX-10R)
8  Mitch LEVY (ATR, Yamaha YZF-R1)
9  Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Finance, Yamaha YZF-R1)
10 Troy GUENTHER (Saint Unbreakable, BMW S1000RR)

Race Two 
Before the highly anticipated race had even started, Falzon was excluded from Race One points for being found to cause the red flag. He did however, start the race on pole position due to his qualifying time.

The second race once again was a master class showcase by Waters after the field all got off the line in a clean start. It was Waters, Herfoss and Staring to lead the pack from lap two of the 17 lap circulation, and it stayed that way for the duration.

Lap 10 onwards was marred with drama, when Micheal Blair (Yamaha YRT, Yamaha YZF-R1) suffered a crash but was uninjured. Yamaha Racing Team’s Maxwell also had a spectacular crash at Pirelli corner (turn five), connecting with his bike, but managing to walk back to the pits from the infield.

Ben Stronach (Velocity Race Team, Yamaha YZF-R1) also went down heavily at the Yamaha hairpin (turn six).

But the story of the day belonged to Waters, who was a man on a mission. Waters managed to continuously pull a significant gap in front of the Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team riders. A red flag was brought out on the final lap after most competitors had completed 15 laps, due to signage been blown from a wind gust on to turn five. The race was then declared and results counted back a lap.

Rookie Superbike rider Corey Turner (YRD Exhaust Prof, Yamaha YZF-R1) had an amazing ride, keeping up comfortably to the top three, eventually finishing in fourth and Robbie Bugden in next rounding out the top five, ten full seconds behind Waters.

After this weekend’s results, Herfoss leads the championship with 170 points, Bugden to second in the championship with 157 points and Falzon moves to third with 155 points.

Provisional Race Two Results
1  Josh WATERS  (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSXR-1000R)
2  Troy HERFOSS (Crankt Protein Honda Racing, Honda CBR-1000SP)
3  Bryan STARING (Crankt Protein Honda Racing, Honda CBR-1000SP)
4  Corey TURNER (YRD Exhaust Prof, Yamaha YZF-R1)
5  Robert BUGDEN (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R)
6  Daniel FALZON (JD Racing  Dynometers, Yamaha YZF-R1)
7  Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Finance, YZF-R1)
8  Matt WALTERS (Kawasaki Australia,  ZX-10R
9  Beau BEATON (Racers Edge Performance, Ducati Panigale 1199)
10 Troy GUENTHER (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S1000RR)