Pole for United Autosports in Spa ELMS


United Autosports capitalised on their pace in free practice with Filipe Albuquerque taking pole position for the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps in the no22 Oreca-Gibson by over seven tenths of a second.

The no28 IDEC Sport and no31 Algarve Pro Racing Orecas didn’t take part in the 12 minute LMP2 qualifying session after the separate accidents at Raidillon in Free Practice 2.

Albuquerque’s best time of 2m00.848 was 0.739s ahead of the no23 Panis Barthez Competition Oreca of Will Stevens.  Alex Brundle briefly went ahead of Stevens at the Chequered flag for a United Autosports 1-2 in the no32 Oreca, but the British driver was judged to have gone beyond track limits at T4 and the lap was deleted, with Brundle finishing the session in 7th.

The no30 Duqueine Engineering Oreca of Nicolas Jamin was third with a 2m01.770 lap, 0.922s behind the lead car and two tenths ahead of the no37 Cool Racing Oreca of Round 4 winner Nico Lapierre.  Championship leaders G-Drive Racing will start in 5th place after Jean-Eric Vergne set a best lap of 2m02.301.

LMP3: Realteam Racing Secure Debut ELMS Pole

The no9 Realteam Racing Norma M30 of David Droux dominated the LMP3 qualifying session with the French driver securing the team’s debut pole by over six tenths of a second.  The no19 M Racing Norma of Lucas Legeret will start on the front row of the class grid after the Swiss driver posted a 2m12.856 at the chequered flag to push Matthieu Lahaye down to third in the no17 Ultimate Norma by just 0.023s.

The no7 Nielsen Racing Norma of Colin Noble was 4th, just ahead of championship contender Mikkel Jensen in the no11 Eurointernational Ligier.  The Dane qualified two places ahead of championship leader Nigel Moore in the no12 Inter Europol Competition Ligier.

LMGTE:  Cairoli Claims Third LMGTE Pole Position of 2019 Season

Italian Matteo Cairoli took his third pole of the year in the no77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR. Cairoli set a 2m15.088 lap, 0.383s ahead of Alessandro Pier Guidi’s no51 Luzich Racing Ferrari and seven tenths ahead of the no60 Kessel Racing Ferrari of Andrea Piccini.

The 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps begins at 12h30 on Sunday 22 September.

CLICK HERE for the result from Qualifying for the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps