Brinkman leads healthy QRC field in 2023 opener


Photos: CH Images

The KickAss Motorsport Australia Queensland Rally Championship kicked off on the weekend with a dramatic Roo Systems Australia Manumbar Rally.

A huge field of 38 was entered in the state championship opener, which had been cancelled in the previous three attempts due to fire, flooding and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Fortunately, the event was finally able to take place on the weekend and highly enjoyed by all as Glenn Brinkman and Steven Richardson were eventually deemed event-winners.

Behind the wheel of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9, Brinkman and Richardson’s consistency rewarded them with the one-minute win over fellow Evo crew Ian Menzies and Robert McGowan.

Rounding out the podium were Ryan Williams and Brad Jones, with the duo unlucky not to take out the victory, considering they had won the first six stages, after an issue on SS7 saw them four and a half minutes slower than Brinkman on stage.

Winning the event’s 2WD class were the ninth placed Tim and Andrew Dillon in their 1992 Honda Civic, as the duo comfortably finished three minutes ahead of their closest competitors in David Ovenden and Kelvin O’Shea.

Finishing in between Sillon and Ovenden was Clubman Cup winners Nikki Duclos and Craig Hodge with the duo steering their Tripp Industries 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti to the class win.

Their class victory was even more comfortable than Dillons as more than eight minutes separated the 11th placed Subaru WRX Sti with Clubman runner-up David Byrne and his co-driver Peter Stringfellow.

Taking out the Novice Cup for the event was David Micjan and Luca Grinover with the 1993 Subaru Impreza WRX drivers the only crew in the class to complete all run stages.

Click here to view full results.

Finishing the event was no easy feat though with the conditions adding to the already challenging stages for crews.

There were a number of high-profile DNFs occurring throughout with the most notable being Andrew Carrigan and Liam Hinschen in the popular Mitsubishi “Tiny” Magna and event top seeds Matthew and Amy Davidson, who finished just two stages.

The next round of the KickAss Motorsport Australia Queensland Rally Championship will be run as part of the Bosch Motorsport Australia Rally Championship’s Accent Benchtops Rally Queensland on 21-23 July.