IndyCar: Dixon secures win in season Finale


The 2023 NTT IndyCar season drew to a close on Sunday with 6-time champion Scott Dixon the victor in a caution filled and unpredictable race.

Coming off the back of a near win in Portland, which saw teammate Alex Palou secure his 2nd series title, Dixon was the class of the field. Starting 11th after a grid penalty due to an unapproved engine change, Dixon stayed true to his Iceman nickname throughout the race. At the start, Dixon found himself the victory of circumstance as he attempted to avoid chaos in turn 1, and in the process was given an drive through penalty for “unavoidable contact” for shunting the number 21 machine of Rinus Veekay into the gravel.

With the penalty served, the Ganassi team got to work as they slowly moved up the field, managing their strategy in one of the most yellow filled races of the season. As the laps wound down, the field would go under caution for the final time on lap 75, with Romain Grosjean and Pato O’Ward in the top two spots. Their time in the lead would be short as they had to pit for fuel on lap 76, handing the lead to Dixon.

With the number 9 machine firmly in the lead, Dixon would hold off any challenge to cross the line over 7 seconds ahead of second place Scott McLaughlin and the newly crowned champ Palou in third. Dixon’s 3rd win in the final four races of the season cemented his 2nd place season standing and added to his ever grown win tally with career victory 56, only 11 victories behind the legendary AJ Foyt for first on the all time win list.

Not to be outshone, Ganassi road course driver Marcus Armstrong wrapped up his Rookie of the Year award, finishing with 214 points on the season ahead of Juncos Hollinger’s Agustin Canapino and Dale Coyne’s Sting Ray Robb.

In the manufacturer standings, Chevrolet edged Honda by a scant 12 points to take the manufacturers championship for the second year in a row.

For 2023 Season results, recaps, and reviews, please visit the official IndyCar website