2020 Australian Rally Championship calendar revealed


Next year’s Motorsport Australia Rally Championship calendar has been revealed, with competitors and rally fans to enjoy an exciting mix of events.

As previously announced, the Netier National Capital Rally will open the national rally season on 21-22 March in Canberra, before the Make Smoking History Forest Rally hosts round two on 17-19 April in Busselton and Nannup.

The further four rounds have now been locked in, with Rally Tasmania in Launceston, Eureka Rush in Ballarat and the Adelaide Hills Rally in Mount Barker to follow later in the year.

The sixth round of the Championship is still yet to be confirmed, with discussions underway with a number of events to replace what has traditionally been the end of season Rally Australia slot.

With CAMS impending rebrand to Motorsport Australia on 1 January, the Championship will now be known as the Motorsport Australia Rally Championship.

CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca said the Championship now had a solid mix of events that had cemented their place on the national calendar.

“The 2019 Championship was certainly a captivating one on many fronts for both competitors and spectators alike,” Arocca said.

“2020 is shaping up to be even better as we continue to work closely with the event organisers to further grow the Championship events that are held across Australia, as well as step up the coverage these events receive. Our audience has grown year-on-year and we’re focused on further improvements to our digital offering next year to generate even more exposure for the Motorsport Australia Rally Championship.

“While the final round is yet to be confirmed, we are committed to hosting a sixth event and will look to confirm details of this event as soon as we are able to.”

The exciting, shortened one day rally formats held for the first time in 2019 will continue in 2020, with Canberra’s Netier National Capital Rally and Victoria’s Eureka Rush Rally to showcase the shortened format once again.

Keep an eye on rally.com.au in the coming weeks for individual 2020 event previews.

Motorsport Australia Rally Championship 2020

Round 1: Netier National Capital Rally, 21-22 March
Round 2: Make Smoking History Forest Rally, 17-19 April
Round 3: Rally Tasmania, 19-21 June
Round 4: Eureka Rush, 22-23 August
Round 5: Adelaide Hills Rally, 2-4 October
Round 6: TBC