NASCAR: Stenhouse victorious in Daytona


Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and his JTG Daugherty Racing team stamped their names into the history books Sunday afternoon as he became the latest winner of NASCAR’s most prestigious race as the series kicked off it’s 75th Season in style under the Florida sun.

The single-car team, co-owned by former NBA All-Star center Brad Daugherty, finally found it’s way back to Victory Lane in over 8 years after last winning with AJ Allmendinger in 2014. This latest triumph for the team comes nearly 12 years to the day that the last single-car team won the Great American Race as Trevor Bayne piloted his number 21 Wood Brothers Ford to victory in 2011, a car that was prepared in the same facility that Stenhouse’s team works out of today.

With a late caution in the second overtime, Stenhouse narrowly edged 2022 Series Champion Joey Logano for the lead with a push from third place finisher Christopher Bell as the caution lights came on, freezing the field and cementing his mark on history.

Catch up on the action and highlights as the series prepares to head west to Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California.