Full field for 2021 WRC Rallye Monte-Carlo


With entries due to shut at midnight on Friday (18 December), organiser Automobile Club de Monaco had received more than 90 entries, including submissions to the headline World Rally Car category from Hyundai Motorsport, Toyota Gazoo Racing and M-Sport Ford.

2020 Rallye Monte Carlo and WRC season launch. Monaco. Shot by Sam Tickell for RacerViews.com

Reigning manufacturers’ champion Hyundai has entered Ott Tänak, Thierry Neuville and Dani Sordo in i20s. Toyota’s four-car entry features world champion Sébastien Ogier, Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanperä and Takamoto Katsuta in Yaris cars.

M-Sport Ford has entered two Fiestas, with both crews due to be confirmed in early January. Pierre-Louis Loubet is also listed in a privately-entered i20.

There is a strong WRC2 entry. Andreas Mikkelsen and Marco Bulacia, who steps up from a WRC3 campaign this year, are entered in Skoda Fabias, with two Citroën C3s for Sean Johnston and Eric Camilli.

Storm forces final day changes for Monte
Next year’s season-opening Rallye Monte-Carlo (21 – 24 January) will feature a new-look finale following severe flooding in the …

Oliver Solberg will make his Hyundai debut in an i20 R5, ex-Hyundai driver Nikolay Gryazin fields a Volkswagen Polo and M-Sport Ford has entered a Fiesta without confirming the crew.

Nine entries have been received in WRC3. Best known is former Hyundai works driver Kevin Abbring in a Polo, while former Junior WRC competitor Tom Williams steps up a level in a Fiesta.

Five Fabias are entered by Fabrizio Arengi Bentivoglio, Cedric De Cecco, Cedric Cherain, Johannes Keferböck and Miguel Diaz Aboitiz. Nicolas Ciamin and Giacomo Ernesto Ogliari will drive C3s.

The full entry list will be published on 11 January.Organisers have also confirmed itinerary changes to comply with Covid-19 curfew regulations in France.

Thursday’s opening leg now starts earlier in the afternoon ahead of two stages in the Hautes-Alpes and Isère departments.

Saturday comprises a double run through La Bréole – Selonnet, which will sandwich Saint Clément – Freissinières, before the long journey south to Monaco for the final overnight halt. The 15 stages cover 279.88km.

Thursday morning’s shakedown on the edge of host town Gap has also been removed from the schedule.