Sublime starting field for the opening round of the Kroon-Oil BRC


Star studded field at the front

After many months of waiting, the Kroon-Oil Belgian Rally Championship will definitely start on Saturday 26 June with the first edition of the South Belgian Rally in Vresse-sur-Semois.


The participants are immediately presented with a new, varied and particularly challenging course. 16 Rally2’s in the top class The title candidates will have to go full speed, because with 16 Rally2’s in the top category there will be no doubts.

Adrian Fernémont starts with the No. 1 as champion of… 2019. He is followed by Ghislain de Mevius, with his Skoda Fabia winner of the opening race of the BRC in Haspengouw last year. At Citroën, Kris Princen will have Frenchman Nicolas Ciamin as a teammate. Two more contenders are Vincent Verschueren, with his Volkswagen Polo GTI Rally2, and Grégoire Munster, who once again defends the colors of Hyundai with his i20 Rally2.

In any case, the two-time Belgian Junior champion made the most race kilometers last year with his Rally2.

The Skoda armada is the strongest in number, because in addition to Fernémont and the Mevius, Bastien Rouard, Pieter-Jan Michiel Cracco, Eric Cunin and Tobias Brüls will also start with a Fabia Rally2. The second VW Polo GTI is owned by Henri Schmelcher. The Ford brigade is also strongly represented with five Fiestas Rally2 entered by Maxime Potty, Harry Bouillon, Nicola Stampaert, Jimmy D’hondt and Christophe Verstaen.

Alpine versus 997 GT3

In addition to the tenors in Rally2, we’re getting ready for an exciting battle in the GTs. Stefaan Prinzie is the only one to start an Alpine A110 RGT as a playmate for the Porsches 997 GT3 of Romain Delhez, Glenn Janssens, Tuur Vanden Abeele, Christophe Daco and Christian Guillemin. A dream of a starting field for lovers of musical GTs.

The fastest Mitsubishi Lancers may also be in the running for points, especially with Olivier “Flash” Collard and Jean-Philippe Radoux at the wheel. It promises to be a very exciting opening match of the Kroon-Oil Belgian Rally Championship, because the M Cup, the Stellantis Rally Cup and the Clio Rally Trophy also start on Saturday in Vresse-sur-Semois.

The first car will start around 8am and the winner of the South Belgian Rally will cross the finish podium at 8:40pm, after 12 special stages and 149.31 kilometers against the clock.