NASCAR: The 2024 Daytona 500 field is set

Chris Graythen | Getty Images
Christopher Bell, driver of the No. 20 DEWALT/Interstate Batteries Toyota, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Bluegreen Vacations Duel 2 at Daytona International Speedway.

The starting grid for the 2024 edition of the Great American Race is set after the running of the qualifying Duel’s Thursday evening in Daytona. Polesitter Joey Logano and runner-up Michael McDowell survived their respective races to hang on to the front row and will lead the first non-Chevrolet lead field to the green flag in over 11 years.

23XI driver Tyler Reddick, and Joe Gibbs’s Christopher Bell, lead an all-Toyota lockout winning both Duel races and securing the 2nd row for the start of Sunday’s race ahead of Chase Elliott, Austin Cindric, Alex Bowman, Denny Hamlin, rookie Carson Hocevar, and rookie John Hunter-Nemechek rounding out the top-10.

Further down the field, Legacy Motor Club co-owner and 7-time Cup Series Champion, Jimmie Johnson, raced his way into the big show, knocking out JJ Yeley for one of the final positions in Sunday’s race. Johnson, who retired in 2020, is running a limited schedule in NASCAR for 2024 as Legacy Motor Club embarks on a new horizon with Toyota, having left Chevrolet at the end of 2023.

Chris Graythen | Getty Images
Jimmie Johnson, driver of the No. 84 Carvana Toyota, and JJ Yeley, driver of the No. 44 100 Coconut Water Chevrolet, race during the NASCAR Cup Series Bluegreen Vacations Duel 1 at Daytona International Speedway.

Video highlights and full grid are below. Tune in for the big show on Sunday, February 18th at 2:30pm ET on Fox.

122Joey LoganoBusch Light Pole winner
234Michael McDowellSecond fastest in qualifying
345Tyler ReddickDuel No. 1 results
420Christopher BellDuel No. 2 results
59Chase ElliottDuel No. 1 results
62Austin CindricDuel No. 2 results
748Alex BowmanDuel No. 1 results
811Denny HamlinDuel No. 2 results
977Carson HocevarDuel No. 1 results
1042John H. NemechekDuel No. 2 results
1143Erik JonesDuel No. 1 results
1221Harrison BurtonDuel No. 2 results
1399Daniel SuárezDuel No. 1 results
1471Zane SmithDuel No. 2 results
1554Ty GibbsDuel No. 1 results
166Brad KeselowskiDuel No. 2 results
175Kyle LarsonDuel No. 1 results
1824William ByronDuel No. 2 results
1917Chris BuescherDuel No. 1 results
2014Chase BriscoeDuel No. 2 results
211Ross ChastainDuel No. 1 results
2251Justin HaleyDuel No. 2 results
2384Jimmie Johnson*Duel No. 1 results
2423Bubba WallaceDuel No. 2 results
2541Ryan PreeceDuel No. 1 results
2636Kaz Grala*Duel No. 2 results
2719Martin Truex Jr.Duel No. 1 results
2816AJ AllmendingerDuel No. 2 results
297Corey LaJoieDuel No. 1 results
304Josh BerryDuel No. 2 results
3138Todd GillilandDuel No. 1 results
3212Ryan BlaneyDuel No. 2 results
333Austin DillonDuel No. 1 results
348Kyle BuschDuel No. 2 results
3547Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Duel No. 1 results
3615Riley HerbstDuel No. 2 results
3731Daniel HemricDuel No. 1 results
3810Noah GragsonDuel No. 2 results
3962Anthony Alfredo*Qualifying speed
4060David Ragan*Qualifying speed