Formula 1: Sprint pole goes to Verstappen, McLaren 2nd and 3rd

***RacerViews coverage of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship was on hold so our team could enjoy some time away, please enjoy our post-session recaps before the 2024 British Grand Prix this weekend***
SPIELBERG, AUSTRIA – JUNE 29: Sprint winner Max Verstappen of the Netherlands and Oracle Red Bull Racing celebrates in parc ferme during the Sprint ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Austria at Red Bull Ring on June 29, 2024 in Spielberg, Austria. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images). // Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool // SI202406290136 // Usage for editorial use only //

Max Verstappen will line up on the front row for tomorrows Sprint Race alongside Lando Norris as the Dutchman and crowd favorite pipped the McLaren driver to pole by a scant 0.093s, echoing Norris’s own pole in Spain over Verstappen a week prior. Oscar Piastri would storm to third on the grid, two-tenths off his teammate, as George Russell would lead the charge for Mercedes from 4th.

HIGHLIGHTS: Relive the action from Austria Sprint Qualifying as Verstappen takes pole and Leclerc hits trouble

Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz will chare the 3rd row of the grid with Lewis Hamilton, the latter taking Sainz’s seat at Ferrari in 2025, while Sergio Perez, Esteban Ocon, Pierre Gasly, and Charles LeClerc would round out the top 10.

With all eyes on the grid for tomorrows Sprint, it’s Verstappen’s to lose as the reigning world champion has found his peak form again at one of his best tracks. Tune in live tomorrow at 13:30 for the third Sprint Race of the year and come back to RacerViews for continued coverage of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship.

Free Practice 1 Report – CLICK HERE


DateSessionTime (Local Circuit)
June 28thPractice 112:30 – 13:30
Sprint Qualifying16:30 – 17:14
June 29thSprint Shootout13:30
Qualifying16:00 – 17:00
June 30thRace15:00

Sprint Qualifying Results:

11Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT1:05.6901:05.1861:04.68611
24Lando NorrisMCLAREN MERCEDES1:05.7861:05.5611:04.77913
381Oscar PiastriMCLAREN MERCEDES1:06.0811:05.3791:04.98714
463George RussellMERCEDES1:05.7641:05.3251:05.0549
555Carlos SainzFERRARI1:05.7811:05.4351:05.12612
644Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES1:06.5041:05.5391:05.27013
711Sergio PerezRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT1:06.2561:05.6121:06.00814
831Esteban OconALPINE RENAULT1:06.3431:05.6861:06.10112
910Pierre GaslyALPINE RENAULT1:06.4651:05.7571:06.62412
1016Charles LeclercFERRARI1:06.1491:05.526DNF12
1120Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI1:06.3871:05.8068
1218Lance StrollASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES1:06.0371:05.8478
1314Fernando AlonsoASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES1:06.4871:05.8789
1422Yuki TsunodaRB HONDA RBPT1:06.5571:05.9609
152Logan SargeantWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:06.518DNF9
163Daniel RicciardoRB HONDA RBPT1:06.5816
1727Nico HulkenbergHAAS FERRARI1:06.5836
1877Valtteri BottasKICK SAUBER FERRARI1:06.7256
1923Alexander AlbonWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:06.7546
2024Zhou GuanyuKICK SAUBER FERRARI1:07.1976