Video: the start of the 2019 Ypres Rally


After the Historic Shakedown on Wednesday it was the modern cars that got into action on Thursday for the final test and qualifying this 2019 edition of the Renties Ypres Rally.

It was a session that remained relatively quiet, except for Vincent Verschueren’s (Skoda Fabia R5) spin which left him down in 21st positon. Interestingly, Thierry Neuville in the official Hyundai i20 WRC (which is actually a test car) proved the difference between the cars by being a second / km faster than the best R5 (the VW Polo GTI R5 Craig Breen). He set the best time of the ‘modern’ category (remembering that Thierry is rallying in ‘Masters’, against Bryan Bouffier and Eric Camilli). It is reasonable difference according to Thierry, who is impressed by the speed of the WRC on the Ypres terrain. He is here for pleasure and is being relatively cautious, and as he only has ‘hard’ tyres he was unable to test in advance as he did not want to eat into his WRC quota.


  1. Breen-Nagle (VW Polo GTI R5-2), 2’56.256 ; 2. Abbring-Hosten (VW Polo GT-7), + 1.442 ; 3. Yates-Morgan (Skoda Fabia R5-8), + 2.320 ; 4. Bedoret-Walbrecq (Skoda Fabia R5-6), + 2.672 ; 5. Princen-Eelbode (VW Polo GTI R5-1), + 3.211 ; 6. Demaerschalk-Vanneste (Citroën C3 R5-9), + 3.300 ; 7. Loix-Tsjoen (Skoda Fabia R5-10), + 5.839 ; 8. Edwards-Walsh (Ford Fiesta R5-3), + 5.939 ; 9. Cracco PJM-Vermeulen (Skoda Fabia R5-14), + 6.172 ; 10. Cave-Bowen (Hyundai i20 R5-5), + 6.283 ; …

Start order

  1. Cave-Bowen (Hyundai i20 R5-5)
  2. Demaerschalk-Vanneste (Citroën C3 R5-9)
  3. Princen-Eelbode (VW Polo GTI R5-1)
  4. Breen-Nagle (VW Polo GTI R5-2)
  5. Abbring-Hosten (VW Polo GTI R5-7)
  6. Yates-Morgan (Skoda Fabia R5-8)
  7. Bedoret-Walbrecq (Skoda Fabia R5-6)
  8. Loix-Tsjoen (Skoda Fabia R5-10)
  9. Edwards-Walsh (Ford Fiesta R5-3)
  10. Cracco PJM-Vermeulen (Skoda Fabia R5-14)
  11. Veiby-Andesson (Hyundai i20 R5-4)
  12. McCormack M-Mitchell (Skoda Fabia R5-11)
  13. Vanneste-D’Alleine (VW Polo GTI R5-12)
  14. Van Deijne-Verschuuren (Skoda Fabia R5-16)
  15. Gass-Shanks (Skoda Fabia R5-23)


The RacerViews info

Video – Sam Tickell

We are passionate, dedicated motorsport professionals.

In 2019, we will be trackside at

  • The World Endurance Championship
  • Belgian Rally Championship
  • British GT

You will also find us at selected rounds of Blancpain, IMSA, WRC, and more. We aim to bring you interviews and photos you won’t see anywhere else. We don’t aim to break the news, rather we aim to bring the voices of the racers to you and atmosphere of the event to you at home. Our social media presence on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube bring you more, a holistic experience. We partner with racers and professionals in the industry and give back where we can. If we can help you or you have a story to share, please contact us.

In the past RacerViews has directly partnered with