Formula 1: Norris storms to maiden victory in Miami


A timely safety car and an unwavering determination saw Lando Norris cross the line for his maiden victory in Formula 1 at the Miami Grand Prix this afternoon ahead of pole-sitter Max Verstappen and Ferrari’s Charles LeClerc. Having started from 5th on the grid, the McLaren driver initially fell back to 6th as teammate Oscar Piastri took advantage of a slow start from Ferrari’s Charles LeClerc and a turn one lock-up by the Red Bull of Perez to jump Norris, and subsequently pass both Ferrari’s in the opening laps. Midway through the race however, Norris and the McLaren team took advantage of a Safety Car brought out by the wrecked Williams of Florida-native Logan Sargeant, positioning Norris ahead of Verstappen on fresh hard tires.

Race Highlights: 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Verstappen attacked Norris at the restart after the safety car period but the Briton was able to hold off the charge and began to separate himself away from Verstappen and 3rd place Charles LeClerc. In contrast to the last race where Norris commanded from the lead only to have victory snatched in the closing laps, the McLaren driver dominated the final stint of the race and took the checkered flag 7.612s ahead of Verstappen and LeClerc, becoming a Formula 1 race winner in his 110th start.

Carlos Sainz finished his day 4th after falling back during a clash with Oscar Piastri in the late stages of the race, while Sergio Perez – who nearly took out teammate Verstappen in the first corner off the start – would end his day in 5th position ahead of the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton. Yuki Tsunoda continued his strong 2024 with a seventh place finish while Hamilton’s teammate fell back to finish 8th overall. Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon battled for the final two points positions as Nico Hulkenberg – originally starting ninth – fell out of the points finish 11th on the day.

Pierre Gasly, Oscar Piastri, and Zhou Guanyu would finish 12th-14th respectively while Daniel Ricciardo, the Sprint Shootout standout, recovered from a 20th starting spot to finish 15th. Valtteri Bottas, Lance Stroll, Kevin Magnussen, and Alex Albon would go on to round out the final positions, while Logan Sargeant ended his day early in his home Grand Prix as the only DNF on the day.


A post-race penalty has been assessed to the Ferrari of Carlos Sainz. The Spanish driver was involved in a collision with McLaren’s Oscar Piastri in turn 17 during the latter stages of Sunday’s race after losing the rear of car and made contact with the McLaren, forcing Piastri into a pitstop to change his front wing. Stewards have given Sainz a 5-sec time penalty, dropping him to 5th and promoting Sergio Perez to 4th place.

Sainz hit with five-second time penalty after collision with Piastri in Miami Grand Prix


Sprint Qualifying Report – CLICK HERE

Spring Shootout Report – CLICK HERE

Qualifying Report – CLICK HERE


14Lando NorrisMCLAREN MERCEDES571:30:5025
21Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT577.612s18
316Charles LeclercFERRARI579.920s15
455Carlos SainzFERRARI5711.407s12
511Sergio PerezRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT5714.650s10
644Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES5716.585s8
722Yuki TsunodaRB HONDA RBPT5726.185s6
863George RussellMERCEDES5734.789s4
914Fernando AlonsoASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES5737.107s2
1031Esteban OconALPINE RENAULT5739.746s1
1127Nico HulkenbergHAAS FERRARI5740.789s0
1210Pierre GaslyALPINE RENAULT5744.958s0
1381Oscar PiastriMCLAREN MERCEDES5749.756s0
1424Zhou GuanyuKICK SAUBER FERRARI5749.979s0
153Daniel RicciardoRB HONDA RBPT5750.9560
1677Valtteri BottasKICK SAUBER FERRARI5752.356s0
1718Lance StrollASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES5755.173s0
1820Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI5764.683s0
1923Alexander AlbonWILLIAMS MERCEDES5776.091s0

With the fly-away races completed, Formula 1 heads back to Europe for the first of two visits to Italy for the MSC CRUISES GRAN PREMIO DEL MADE IN ITALY E DELL’EMILIA-ROMAGNA at the famous Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari Circuit, better known as Imola and the former home of the San Marino Grand Prix. The return to a traditional race weekend will be a welcome change for teams as the typical three practice format returns on May 17th. Check out the below schedule and tune in for all of the action.


DateSessionTime (Local Circuit)
May 17thPractice 113:30 – 14:30
Practice 216:00 – 17:00
May 18thPractice 312:30 – 13:30
Qualifying16:00 – 17:00
May 19thRace15:00